Action Summary



Transportation Policy Committee Public Meeting 10am – 11am, February 21, 2024 Rosa Parks Transportation Center, Multi-Purpose Room 116 101 Jefferson Street, Lafayette, LA 70501

AGENDA, NOTES AND DECISIONS		
AGENDA ITEM	DISCUSSION	
WELCOME & INTRODUCTIONS	Chairperson Andy Naquin called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. He welcomed everyone in attendance and asked everyone to introduce themselves and whom they represent. He stated the purpose of the meeting and read the policy and procedure for a Transportation Policy Committee (TPC) meeting.	
2024 Elections of	The Committee will elect Officers for 2024	
Officers Action Requested	Public Comment	
	<i>Ms. Sara Gary called for nominees for Chair to the Transportation Policy Committee for the 2024 calendar year.</i>	
	A motion was made by Mr. Purvis Morrison and seconded by Mr. Mike Mitchel to elect Mr. Andy Naquin for Chair to the 2024 Transportation Policy Committee (TPC). No other nominees were offered. Mr. Andy Naquin accepted and was voted Chair to the Transportation Policy Committee (TPC) for the 2024 calendar year by acclamation.	
	The motion was approved unanimously. VOTE: 15-0-0-9; Yay - 15; Nay – 0; Abstain – 0; Absent – 9	
	Ms. Sara Gary called for nominees for Vice-Chair to the Transportational Policy Committee for the 2024 calendar year.	
	A motion was made by Mr. Purvis Morrison and seconded by Mr. Eugene Olivier to elect Mr. Mike Mitchell for Vice-Chair to the 2024 Transportation Policy Committee (TPC). No other nominees were offered. Mr. Mike Mitchell accepted. Mr. Mike Mitchell was voted Vice Chair to the Transportation Policy Committee (TPC) for the 2024 calendar year by acclamation.	
	The motion was approved unanimously. VOTE: 15-0-0-9; Yay - 15; Nay – 0; Abstain – 0; Absent –9	

Review of ACTION SUMMARY Action Requested	The Committee will review the Action Summary of the November 15 th , 2023, TPC Meeting. The Committee will consider a motion to approve or amend the Action Summary.
	~~~~~
	Public Comment
	Chair Naquin called for a motion to approve or amend the Action Summary from the November 15, 2023, TPC Meeting.
	A motion was made by Mr. Ben Theriot and seconded by Mr. Keith Roy to approve the Action Summary from the November 15, 2023, TPC Meeting as given.
	The motion was approved unanimously. VOTE: 15-0-0-9; Yay - 15; Nay – 0; Abstain – 0; Absent –9
TIP Amendment No. 6 Action Requested	Staff will present Amendment No. 6 to the 2023-2026 MPO Transportation Improvement Program (TIP). The Transportation Policy Committee will consider a motion to adopt Resolution 1-24 approving TIP Amendment No. 6.
	~~~~~
	Public Comment
	Ms. Sara Gary presented TIP Amendment No. 6. She discussed the 4 Amendments, traffic studies, additions, and changes to the project's phases. She also discussed the additional funding and the movement of construction phases fiscal year. She also discussed the modifications.
	<i>Chair Naquin called for a motion to adopt Resolution 1-24 approving TIP Amendment No. 6.</i>
	A motion was made by Ms. Simone Champagne and seconded by Mr. Eugene Olivier to adopt Resolution 1-24 approving Tip Amendment No. 6.
	The motion was approved unanimously. VOTE: 15-0-0-9; Yay - 15; Nay – 0; Abstain – 0; Absent –9
Congestion Management Process Action Requested	Staff will present the new Congestion Management Process for the Acadiana MPO area. The Transportation Policy Committee will consider a motion to adopt Resolution 2-24 approving the new Congestion Management Process.
	Public Comment

	Ms. Ashley Moran presented the Congestion Management Process. She explained the process and the improvements that have been made. She mentioned that this is the third update of the process and the technological advances that have been made since the first one in 2014. She named the congested areas where most crashes occur and gave recommended suggestions for improvements. Chair Naquin called for a motion to adopt Resolution 2-24 approving the new Congestion Management Process. A motion was made by Ms. Simone Champagne and seconded by Mr. Ben Theriot to adopt Resolution 2-24 approving the new Congestion 2-24 approving
Safe Streets 4 All Plan Update Information Only	Staff will present an update on the Safe Streets 4 All Action Plan. No committee action is requested.
	Public Comment
	Ms. Ashley Moran presented the Safe Streets 4 All Plan Update for information only. She described the plan and what it is designed to do. She informed the Committee Members that this is an implementation grant that they can apply for road safety in their communities.

OLD BUSINESS ~ NEW BUSINESS	Ms. Sara Gary congratulated Ms. Ashley Moran and Mr. Nick Fruge of DOTD District 3 for their work on T-intersections problems and improvements and receiving the National Safety Award in November in Washington D.C.		
PUBLIC COMMENT	<i>Ms. Sara Gary informed the Committee that the link for Ethics Training would be sent to them by email. After completing the training, send a copy of the certificate to our office at APC.</i> <i>No Public Comment.</i>		
POBLIC COMMENT	No Fubic comment.		
ADJOURNMENT	A motion was made by Mr. Kevin Normand and seconded by Mr. Keith Roy to adjourn the meeting. The meeting was adjourned at 11:10 am.		
	MEETING DETAILS		
CONTACT	Rose Breaux, AMPO Meeting Facilitator, 806-9369.		
NEXT TPC MEETING	Wednesday, April 17, 2024		
TITLE VI NOTICE	The Acadiana Metropolitan Organization (MPO) convenes public meetings in accessible locations. Meeting materials can be provided in accessible formats and in languages other than English upon request. If you would like accessibility or language accommodation, please contact the MPO Title VI Coordinator via email at clacomb@planacadiana.org: or by phone at 337-806-9370 (voice), 337-806-9379 (fax). If you wish to attend an MPO function and require special accommodation, please provide at least 72 hours' advanced notice.		
	SUPPLEMENTAL MATERIALS		
SIGN-IN SHEET	20240320161012534 .pdf Sign-In-Sheets 2-21-24-1		
	ATTENDANCE RECORD		
ATTENDEES	Delegates Present:Andy Naquin, LCGSimone Champagne, YoungsvilleWarren Abadie for Monique Boulet, Mayor-President, Lafayette ParishEugene Olivier, Iberia ParishMike Mitchell, LTSAlicia Mire for President Jessie Bellard, St. Landry ParishDoyle Boudreaux, City of ScottPurvis Morrison, Carencro		

	Eric Dauphine, LA DOTD
	Wes Dupuis, St. Martin Parish
	Keith Roy, Vermilion Parish
	Ben Theriot, Broussard
	Kevin Normand, LCG
	Pat Trahan, LCG
	Mary Stringfellow, FHWA Designee (non-voter)
	Travis Smith for Roddy Bergeron, LCG
	Others Present:
	Rose Breaux, AMPO
	Sara Gary, AMPO
	Keefe Carney, MPO
	Ashley Moran, AMPO
	Julie Yin, AMPO
	Nicholas Hernandez, LCG
	Daniel A. Lugo
	Tamaya Huff, FHWA Designee (non-voter)
ABSENTEES	Primary Delegates Absent:
	President Larry Richard, Iberia Parish
	President Pete Delcambre, St Martin Parish
	Thomas Hooks, LCG
	Danielle Fontenette for Jason Willis, St. Martinville
	Mayor Ricky Calais, Breaux Bridge
	Joenathan Livingston, New Iberia
	Jane Braud, New Iberia
	Brett Mellington, LCG
	A.B. Rubin, LCG